Important Notice: Effective immediately, all support will be handled through Discord. Read more about the changes coming to Anodyne's services.

[MOD] CKEditor / WYSIWYG

A place to show off (and others to download) completed MODs. Note: support for MODs is handled by third parties, not Anodyne Productions.

Williams Thu Jun 01, 2017 4:37 pm

[MOD] CKEditor / WYSIWYG

A little while ago I started playing around with What You See Is What You Get (WYSIWYG) editors on my site, and after going through a couple of options settled on using CKEditor. Due to the way that Nova handles text (preserving new line characters in the database and converting them to brs on the fly) contrasting with how these editors work (usually defaulting to wrapping every paragraph in p tags or adding br tags in as you type), I had to find an editor that allowed a good deal of customisation, and I also had to modify how Nova dealt with post content (removing brs before insertion to the database as there was no option to just turn the adding of those tags off and then adding them back in when a post is called up for editing). CKEditor was a good fit for this and the Highlander has been running with it for a few months now. I've been asked to provide the plugin for others to use, and although there are still a few wrinkles in the implementation I think it's at a good enough point for people to utilise it now, so I've packaged it up into a mod.

The mod has been uploaded at https://xtras.anodyne-productions.com/i ... e/ckeditor. I'd recommend that anyone who uses the mod watches my GitHub repo for it at https://github.com/mtwilliams5/nova_mod_ckeditor which will be the first place to see any minor updates I make to address issues as they come up. Any issues with using the mod you can either raise here or on the GitHub page under issues - that last one is more likely to get it noticed by me, but I'll make sure to check the forums here regularly anyway to catch anything here as well.